Monday, March 4, 2024

Remnant From the Ashes Difficulty Levels, How to Change


Remnant From the Ashes is a challenging game that offers a variety of difficulty settings to cater to players of all skill levels. This guide will provide a comprehensive overview of these settings, explain how to change them, and offer additional information to help you tailor your gameplay experience to your preferences.

Updated on July 19, 2023: Our Remnant From the Ashes difficulty settings guide is now updated with new information prior to the release of Remnant 2. We have added the Apocalypse difficulty and brought more clarity to the topic by further going into how to change difficulty levels.

All Difficulty Settings in Remnant From the Ashes

DifficultiesNon-boss HPNon-boss DMGBoss HPBoss DMGExperience

There are four primary difficulty settings in Remnant From the Ashes: Normal, Hard, Nightmare, and Apocalypse. Each setting affects the strength and resilience of enemies, the quality of loot drops, and the overall challenge of the game.


Normal is the default difficulty setting and is designed for new players. Enemies are less aggressive, have lower health, and deal less damage compared to the higher difficulty levels. Loot drops are also less frequent and of lower quality. This setting is ideal for players who are new to the game or those who prefer a more relaxed gameplay experience.


Hard is the intermediate difficulty setting. Enemies are more aggressive, have higher health, and deal more damage. Loot drops are more frequent and of higher quality compared to Normal. This setting is recommended for players who have some experience with the game and are looking for a greater challenge.


Nightmare is the highest difficulty setting. Enemies are extremely aggressive, have significantly higher health, and deal substantial damage. Loot drops are very frequent and of the highest quality. This setting is intended for experienced players who are looking for the ultimate challenge.


Apocalypse mode is the most challenging difficulty level in the game. It is not accessible right from the beginning but becomes unlocked after completing the game at least once on any other difficulty level. This mode poses an extremely high level of difficulty, and the developers intentionally designed it to be available only after players have become familiar with the game mechanics and have developed effective strategies. The enemies and bosses in this mode are exceptionally powerful, leaving no room for errors or mistakes.

How To Change Difficulty Settings

To change the difficulty setting in Remnant From the Ashes, you need to re-roll your campaign. Here’s how to do it:

  1. At the Ward 13 World Stone, select ‘World Settings’.
  2. Choose the ‘Re-roll Campaign’ option.
  3. Select the campaign you want to re-roll.
  4. Choose your desired difficulty setting.

Note: Please note that re-rolling your campaign will reset all world progress, but you will keep your character progression and equipment.

Additional Information


Remnant From the Ashes uses a dynamic difficulty scaling system. This means that the difficulty of the game adjusts based on your character’s gear score. The higher your gear score, the more challenging the enemies will be. This scaling applies to all difficulty settings.

Co-op Play

The difficulty of the game also scales based on the number of players in a co-op session. The more players in a session, the more challenging the enemies will be. However, playing in co-op also means more firepower to take down enemies.

Adventure Mode

In addition to the main campaign, Remnant From the Ashes also features an Adventure Mode. This mode allows you to re-roll individual worlds without affecting your main campaign progress. The difficulty setting of Adventure Mode can be adjusted independently of the main campaign.

Note: Adjusting the difficulty setting in the game will affect various aspects, including enemy toughness and your own damage output. However, it is important to note that the difficulty will always align with the level of your most powerful gear. In other words, regardless of the chosen difficulty, the game will scale to match the strength of your highest-level equipment.

This marks the end of our Remnant From the Ashes difficulty guide.

Gunfire, Forest, Explosions & More During Game Events. Compatible with All Games/Platforms; 6 scents Included.
Talha Amjad
Talha Amjad
PC hardware enthusiast and avid gamer. Has been creating content for more than 8 years and has worked with multiple brands and renowned websites. Tech and gaming are more than just work, they are a passion and way of life for me.

Subscribe To RespawnFirst Newsletter

What's Hot