Ghostrunner 2 introduces players to a unique system that allows them to upgrade their character’s abilities: the Upgrade Chip System. This system, while integral to gameplay, can be a tad perplexing for newcomers. Here’s a comprehensive guide to help you navigate the Upgrade Chip System and make the most of it.


Ghostrunner 2 Upgrade System Explained

When you equip an upgrade chip, it locks to a specific column on the Motherboard. For instance, if you equip a Sword chip to the first column, that column will only accept other Sword chips. This rule applies to all columns. Given the vast array of upgrade chips available, with numerous subcategories, players need to be strategic about their choices.

If you equip an upgrade chip and leave spaces below it or between two chips in a column, a “memory leak” occurs. Contrary to its daunting name, a memory leak in Ghostrunner 2 simply means the empty space acts as if there’s a chip occupying it.

To equip more chips, you’ll need to expand your motherboard’s memory capacity. This can be achieved by collecting data shards scattered throughout the game’s levels. While you don’t need to collect every shard, gathering approximately 60% to 70% should offer a robust gameplay experience.

As you progress in the game, you’ll gain access to the Rooting upgrade chip. It gives your character freedom to add any upgrade chip in any slot but you need to spend 8 memory points to unlock this feature in Ghostrunner 2.

Types of Upgrade Chips

There are eight distinct types of upgrade chips in the game:

  • Sword
  • System
  • Traversal
  • Flow
  • Shuriken
  • Tempest
  • Shadow
  • Rootkit

The Upgrade Chip System in Ghostrunner 2 might seem a bit overwhelming at first, with its various chip types, memory leaks, and motherboard upgrades. However, once you get the hang of it, it becomes an essential tool in enhancing your character’s abilities and tailoring your gameplay experience. Remember to strategize your chip placements and gather those data shards to maximize your potential in this thrilling cyber-ninja adventure.