Gears 5 Multiplayer Guide: Arcade Deathmatch, Escalation, King of the Hill

Gears 5 multiplayer

Gears 5 multiplayer has several different modes that you can explore. These Gears 5 multiplayer modes include Arcade Deathmatch, Escalation and King of the Hill. Here we are going to take a brief look into what each of these modes has to offer.

It is worth mentioning that in ranked games you will need to pick your weapons but in non-ranked games, you are assigned weapons from the start. You can increase your rank by completing set objectives and each rank has a specific reward. At the end of each match, you will get experience points which depend on how well your match went.

Gears 5 Multiplayer Modes

Here is what you need to know about the different multiplayer modes in Gears 5:

Arcade Deathmatch

Two times of five members each fight against one another in the Arcade Deathmatch mode. There are no rules. The first team to gt 50 kills wins the match.

Gears 5 multiplayer


In Escalation two teams of five members each will fight each other. There are 13 rounds in total and whoever wins 7 of them wins the whole thing. There are three different areas on the map that you need to take over. Getting control over these areas will earn you points. Whoever gets 250 points or gets control of all the points wins the round.

You will have a limited number of respawns and you can choose when you want to join the fight again. At the end of each round, players will be able to pick weapons and locations which are decided by voting.

King of the Hill

A zone is generated on the map and both teams will try and take that zone. The team that has control over the zone will get points. The zone changes after a certain time. The location of the next zone is revealed 10 seconds before the current one expires. The first team to get 180 points wins.

This marks the end of our Gears 5 multiplayer modes guide. Stay tuned for more Gears 5 guides.