There are many useful systems in Diablo 4 but none comes close to Renown when it comes to the rewards that if offers. It is sort of a regional reputation system that rewards exploration. As you continue to explore different regions of Sanctuary, you will continue to amass Renown for a range of different rewards. In this Diablo 4 guide, we will walk you through everything you need to know about the Renown System, Reward Tiers, and some tips to farm Renown easily.


Diablo 4 Renown Explained

Renown is a fairly simple yet incredibly useful mechanic in Diablo 4. It is essentially a regional progression system that rewards you with a whole lot of stuff based on the level of exploration within different regions.

Earning Renown

There are quite a few optional activities that you can complete to increase Renown. Each of these activities will get you a set amount of Renown Points which you will need to accumulate to earn different rewards. A comprehensive list of all the activities and the corresponding Renown Points you get from completing them is provided:

Strongholds 100
Dungeons 30
Waypoints 20
Side Quests 20
Altars of Lilith 10
Discovering Areas 5

At any point in the game, you can press Tab to bring up the Region Progression menu which will display your current Renown within the region, recommended activities, unclaimed rewards, etc.

Reward Tiers

Rewards offered by the Renown System in Diablo 4 are divided into tiers – five in total. Each time you reach a specific threshold, you get a whole lot of rewards such as additional Skill Points, Paragon Points, Murmuring Obols, Gold, XP, etc.

It is important to note that Gold and XP must be claimed by each character. As for other rewards, those are automatically applied to all the characters on a realm. Another thing that you need to keep in mind is that the last two Reward Tiers require you to be on World Tier 3.

If you manage to fully unlock all five Reward Tiers, you will get 10 Skill Points, 5 Potion Charges, 400 Murmuring Obol capacity, and 20 Paragon Points, and a bunch of XP/Gold. As for the thresholds, a complete breakdown of Renown Points needed to unlock each Reward Tier is provided:

Reward Tier 1 200 Renown 200 Total Renown
Reward Tier 2 300 Renown 500 Total Renown
Reward Tier 3 400 Renown 900 Total Renown
Reward Tier 4 500 Renown and WT3 1400 Total Renown
Reward Tier 5 600 Renown and WT3 2000 Total Renown

It may seem like a lot to some people but it is really not. There is absolutely no need to do everything within a region to get the required Renown … unless you really want to. Even if you stick to the activities that you like, you will have more than enough Renown Points to get all the rewards.

Some Tips and Tricks

As you might have noticed from the breakdown above, Strongholds are the absolute best when it comes to earning Renown in Diablo 4. If possible you should try to create a route that has multiple objectives in it. These can be Strongholds, some minor Side Quests, Dungeons, and Altars of Lilith.

As mentioned earlier, there is absolutely no need to complete everything unless you really want to. If you want to purely focus on Renown, you should also avoid World Bosses, Cellars, Events, etc. as they do not contribute anything.

This is everything we have got on understanding Renown in Diablo 4. If there is anything else that you would like to learn, be sure to let us know in the comments down below!